Buying guide
Best hedge trimmers for blackberries: 7 coarse-growth picks
RYOBI's RY40606 leads this conditional list with a published 1.5-inch capacity. EGO HT2601 and Husqvarna 522iHD60 follow at 1.2 inches, but no hedge trimmer should be pushed past its documented limit.

Blackberry growth is a conditional hedge-trimmer job. If the stems fit the model’s published limit and the work can be done with stable footing and clear visibility, RYOBI’s RY40606 has the strongest capacity claim in this pool at 1.5 inches. EGO HT2601 and Husqvarna 522iHD60 follow with 1.2-inch figures, although the Husqvarna number comes from Pro Tool Reviews rather than the current US product page.
She Gardens did not test these trimmers. Wear gloves, eye protection, long sleeves, and any PPE required by the manual, but do not mistake protective clothing for permission to cut material beyond the tool’s rating. A hedge trimmer is not a pruning-saw substitute. Stop at the documented limit, and use a saw or hire a professional for larger stems, awkward growth, or work near power lines.
Quick comparison
| Rank | Product | Blackberry fit | Main drawback |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | RYOBI 40V HP Brushless Whisper Series RY40606 | 1.5 in capacity; 26 in blade | 11.7 lb; variant needs checking |
| 2 | EGO POWER+ HT2601 | 1.2 in capacity; 26 in blade | Weight unstated; notify-me listing |
| 3 | Husqvarna 522iHD60 | 1.2 in reported by PTR | Current US page omits capacity |
| 4 | EGO POWER+ HT2411 | 1 in capacity; 24 in blade | Weight and tooth gap unstated |
| 5 | DEWALT DCHT826B | 1 in capacity; tip guard | Weight and SPM not stated |
| 6 | ECHO DHC-2800R | 38 mm pitch; capacity unknown | No maximum diameter published |
| 7 | Makita XHU07Z | 7/8 in maximum diameter | Tool only; lower limit |
The seven picks
1. RYOBI RY40606 for the highest capacity claim
The RYOBI RY40606 has a 1.5-inch documented capacity, a 26-inch blade, and 2,800 to 3,200 SPM in manufacturer material. It is listed at 11.7 pounds and has a 180-degree rotating handle. That makes it the capacity leader, but the weight matters when the tool is held into thorny growth. Confirm the current tool-only variant and warranty. Keep any stem beyond 1.5 inches out of the blade.
Pros: highest documented capacity, long blade, rotating handle. Cons: heavy, exact current variant needs checking, and capacity is still a ceiling.
Check the RYOBI RY40606 on Amazon
2. EGO POWER+ HT2601 for a 1.2-inch capacity
EGO’s HT2601 lists a 1.2-inch capacity, 26-inch blade, and speeds up to 3,400 SPM. The five-position rotating handle can change the grip angle, and EGO lists a serviceable gearbox. Its included 2.5Ah battery is rated for up to 60 minutes under a no-load condition. The page showed notify-me availability and does not state weight. Do not treat the runtime figure as a thorny-growth schedule.
Pros: strong documented capacity, rotating handle, serviceable gearbox. Cons: weight is missing, runtime condition is narrow, availability needs a current check.
Check the EGO HT2601 on Amazon
3. Husqvarna 522iHD60 for independent capacity context
The Husqvarna 522iHD60 has a 23.6-inch blade, 4,400 cuts per minute, and a 7.94-pound weight excluding the battery in the locked record. Pro Tool Reviews reported a 1.2-inch capacity. The current US product page does not state that capacity or a model-specific warranty period. This is a reasonable alternative when reported handling weight matters, but keep the independent source attribution visible.
Pros: reported 1.2-inch capacity, lighter bare weight, professional battery platform. Cons: tool only, current page omits capacity, warranty period is not stated.
Check the Husqvarna 522iHD60 on Amazon
4. EGO POWER+ HT2411 for a one-inch limit
The EGO HT2411 has a 1-inch capacity, 24-inch blade, and 3,000 SPM. EGO lists an electric brake, IPX4 weather resistance, and fully serviceable blades. The checked page does not publish weight or tooth gap and showed notify-me availability. Those service details are useful, but they do not let you cut blackberry stems beyond the 1-inch limit.
Pros: clear capacity, electric brake, serviceable blades. Cons: missing weight and tooth gap, availability needs a current check, lower capacity than the top three.
Check the EGO HT2411 on Amazon
5. DEWALT DCHT826B for a 20V MAX setup
DEWALT’s DCHT826B has a 1-inch capacity, 24-inch blade, hedge sweep, tip guard, and variable speed control. The manufacturer also lists a three-year limited warranty, one year of free service, and a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. The absolute tooth gap, weight, and SPM are not stated in the checked source. Use it only on material within the capacity.
Pros: 20V platform, clear capacity, useful safety controls and service terms. Cons: no weight or SPM, tool only, 1-inch ceiling.
Check the DEWALT DCHT826B on Amazon
6. ECHO DHC-2800R for a wide stated cutter pitch
The ECHO DHC-2800R has a 28.1-inch cutting length and a 38 mm cutter pitch. ECHO lists 4,600 cuts per minute, 3.1 kg dry weight, blade adjustment, a rotating handle, and up to 96 minutes. The locked page does not fully define that runtime condition and does not publish maximum branch diameter. It cannot be ranked by capacity, so use it only when the material fits the manual.
Pros: wide stated pitch, long blade, adjustment and rotating handle. Cons: no maximum diameter, incomplete runtime condition, and no evidence specific to blackberry growth.
Check the ECHO DHC-2800R on Amazon
7. Makita XHU07Z for lighter sub-limit work
Makita’s XHU07Z has a 7/8-inch maximum branch diameter, a 24-inch blade, and three speed settings from 2,000 to 4,400 SPM. It weighs 7.3 pounds without a battery and 8.65 pounds with one. Anti-vibration design, a tip guard, and overload and overheat monitoring are documented. Its lower capacity means it belongs here only for smaller stems.
Pros: lightest documented full-size model, three speeds, clear limit. Cons: 7/8-inch ceiling, tool only, and less room for coarse growth.
Check the Makita XHU07Z on Amazon
Blackberry-work buying criteria
Measure the stems before choosing a model
Look at the largest stems you plan to remove, then compare that measurement with the exact manufacturer’s maximum. RYOBI lists 1.5 inches, EGO HT2601 and Husqvarna 522iHD60 are listed at 1.2 inches, and EGO HT2411 and DEWALT DCHT826B at 1 inch. ECHO does not publish a maximum in the locked page. Never round up.
Plan for thorns and hidden objects
Wear the PPE named by the manual and keep a clear escape path. Thorny growth can hide wire, posts, irrigation parts, or other hard material. Inspect before cutting. Keep the blade away from soil and stones, and stop if you cannot see what the teeth will meet.
Use a saw when the hedge trimmer stops making sense
A pruning saw is the honest answer for stems beyond the published limit or a cut that requires force. A hedge trimmer’s motor, blade, and battery do not become a saw because the patch is overgrown. Hire a professional when access, footing, or power lines make the work unsafe.
Do not promise cleanup speed from runtime
EGO and ECHO publish runtime statements with limited conditions. Thorny growth, pauses, stem size, and battery age change the work. Carry charged batteries only after measuring the job, and confirm tool-only versus kit contents.
Blackberry beds may also need a defined watering plan. The raised-bed irrigation guide and large-garden irrigation guide cover those layouts.
Frequently asked questions
Can a hedge trimmer cut blackberry stems?
Only when the exact stems fit the model’s documented capacity and the manual permits the work. RYOBI has the highest published capacity here at 1.5 inches. Larger stems need a pruning saw or another rated tool.
What is the best hedge trimmer for thick blackberry growth?
RYOBI RY40606 is the strongest capacity match in this locked pool. EGO HT2601 follows at 1.2 inches. Neither should be pushed past its published limit.
Should I use a pole hedge trimmer on blackberries?
Pole reach does not change a tool’s capacity and can make thorny work harder to control. Keep the work at a safe height from stable footing. Use a professional for awkward or overhead access.
Can I cut blackberry canes with a faster SPM trimmer?
SPM alone does not establish branch capacity or safe use. Compare the documented limit and manual, not just the speed number. Stop when the stem exceeds the limit or the blade binds.
Recommendation
Choose RYOBI RY40606 when the 1.5-inch claim fits the work and its 11.7-pound weight is manageable. EGO HT2601 is the next capacity choice. For larger stems or awkward access, use a pruning saw or a professional instead of forcing a hedge trimmer.
Sources and method
Product facts come from the locked hedge-trimmer source registry and linked manufacturer pages. Independent capacity and handling context comes from Pro Tool Reviews’ roundup and Husqvarna review. She Gardens did not test these products. Local product images require permission confirmation before launch.
