Buying guide
Best hedge trimmers for professional use: 7 serviceable battery picks
Husqvarna's 522iHD60 is the strongest professional starting point here because its 36V platform and independent handling report are documented together. ECHO and STIHL are credible alternatives when local support matters.

Professional hedge trimming is a service and maintenance decision, not a race for the biggest SPM number. Husqvarna’s 522iHD60 leads this list because it combines a professional 36V BLi-X battery platform with independent handling and capacity context. ECHO’s DHC-2800R and STIHL’s HSA 140 T follow for their professional positioning, controls, and dealer-based support model.
She Gardens reviewed the locked manufacturer pages, manuals, and independent sources. We did not test these trimmers. Runtime figures are included only with their stated conditions, and a model-specific warranty is marked as unverified when the source does not publish one. Check the exact tool, battery, charger, and service terms before quoting a job.
Quick comparison
| Rank | Product | Professional fit | Main tradeoff |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Husqvarna 522iHD60 | 36V platform; PTR reports 1.2 in capacity | Tool only; warranty period not stated |
| 2 | ECHO DHC-2800R | 28.1 in cutting length; 4,600 cuts/min | Capacity not published |
| 3 | STIHL HSA 140 T | AP battery system; service through dealer | Capacity and tooth gap not stated |
| 4 | EGO POWER+ HT2601 | 1.2 in capacity; serviceable gearbox | Notify-me listing observed |
| 5 | Makita XHU08Z | 30 in blade; 18V LXT platform | Tool only; long tool is less compact |
| 6 | DEWALT DCHT826B | 20V platform; service terms published | Weight and SPM not stated |
| 7 | Milwaukee M18 FUEL 2726-20 | M18 platform; metal gear case | 3/4 in documented capacity |
The seven picks
1. Husqvarna 522iHD60 for a professional battery platform
The Husqvarna 522iHD60 has a 23.6-inch blade, 4,400 cuts per minute, and a 7.94-pound weight excluding the battery in the locked record. Pro Tool Reviews reported a 1.2-inch capacity in its independent review. Husqvarna’s current US page does not state a model-specific warranty period, so a professional buyer should confirm the current policy and local service path before putting several units into a fleet.
Pros: professional-oriented platform, good independent capacity and weight context, full-size blade. Cons: tool only, battery cost is separate, and service terms need confirmation.
Check the Husqvarna 522iHD60 on Amazon
2. ECHO DHC-2800R for long cutting length
ECHO’s DHC-2800R has a 28.1-inch cutting length, 38 mm cutter pitch, and 4,600 cuts per minute. ECHO states up to 96 minutes, but the checked page does not fully specify the battery or test condition. It also leaves maximum branch diameter unstated. That makes this a professional trimming candidate, not a verified thick-branch recommendation.
Pros: longest cutting length in this ranking, wide stated pitch, rotating handle and blade adjustment. Cons: no published maximum branch diameter, incomplete runtime condition, warranty needs dealer confirmation.
Check the ECHO DHC-2800R on Amazon
3. STIHL HSA 140 T for dealer-supported work
The STIHL HSA 140 T uses the 36V nominal AP battery system and has a 24-inch blade. Its three speed settings run from 3,900 to 5,000 SPM. STIHL lists a rotating multi-function handle, IPX4 protection, a tip protector, and blade cover. The US materials checked for this guide do not state a cut capacity, tooth gap, or fixed warranty period. Ask a dealer for those terms before selecting it for repeat contract work.
Pros: professional battery system, rotating handle, three speeds, dealer channel. Cons: capacity is unknown, tool only, and warranty depends on buyer and dealer terms.
Check the STIHL HSA 140 T on Amazon
4. EGO POWER+ HT2601 for documented capacity and serviceability
EGO’s HT2601 combines a 26-inch blade, a 1.2-inch published capacity, and a serviceable gearbox. The five-position rotating handle helps change cutting angles, while IPX4 weather resistance is documented on the product page. EGO says up to 60 minutes with the included 2.5Ah battery under a no-load condition. That figure should not become a crew schedule without a real job test. The page showed notify-me availability on the research date.
Pros: clear capacity, serviceable gearbox, five-position handle. Cons: exact weight is not stated, tool availability needs a fresh check, and runtime is a no-load claim.
Check the EGO HT2601 on Amazon
5. Makita XHU08Z for long passes on the 18V LXT platform
The Makita XHU08Z brings a 30-inch blade and a 49-3/4-inch overall length to the 18V LXT platform. Its maximum branch diameter is 7/8 inch, with a 1-inch tooth gap and 4,400 SPM. Makita reports 7.7 pounds without the battery and 9.05 pounds with it. The long tool covers more hedge in each pass, but it needs room and arm control.
Pros: longest blade here, documented weight, three platform protections. Cons: tool only, lower capacity than the top capacity picks, and longer handling can tire a crew member.
Check the Makita XHU08Z on Amazon
6. DEWALT DCHT826B for published service terms
The DEWALT DCHT826B is a tool-only 20V MAX XR model with a 24-inch blade and 1-inch capacity. DEWALT documents a hedge sweep, tip guard, variable speed control, and a three-year limited warranty with one year of free service. Those service terms are easier to compare on paper than a vague commercial promise. The checked page does not publish weight or SPM, and the absolute tooth gap is not stated.
Pros: clear service coverage, 1-inch capacity, familiar 20V platform. Cons: missing weight and speed figures, tool only, no verified independent model measurement in the locked record beyond roundup context.
Check the DEWALT DCHT826B on Amazon
7. Milwaukee M18 FUEL 2726-20 for an M18 fleet
The Milwaukee M18 FUEL 2726-20 makes sense when a crew already carries M18 REDLITHIUM batteries. It has a 24-inch blade, 3,400 SPM, a blade tip guard, an all-metal gear case, and a variable speed trigger. Pro Tool Reviews provides category context in the locked pool, while the independent and retail record reports 8.8 pounds bare. Its 3/4-inch capacity makes it a maintenance trimmer, not a coarse-growth specialist.
Pros: M18 compatibility, metal gear case, variable trigger. Cons: lower capacity, tool only, warranty terms require purchase-channel confirmation.
Check the Milwaukee 2726-20 on Amazon
What professional buyers should check
Service matters more than a brochure adjective
Write down the exact model, serial process, dealer contact, and warranty category before a purchase. Husqvarna, ECHO, and STIHL require more direct confirmation of service or warranty terms in this pool than DEWALT or Makita. That is not a quality verdict. It is a paperwork difference that matters when a crew depends on the tool.
Separate runtime claims from crew output
The locked pool has manufacturer runtime claims for EGO HT2601 and ECHO DHC-2800R, plus a condition-specific Makita pole claim on another model. Those numbers do not account for branch thickness, pauses, blade contact, battery age, or weather. Carry charged batteries and schedule around the work you have measured, not the highest number on a product page.
Check what is included
Husqvarna, STIHL, Makita, DEWALT, and Milwaukee models in this ranking are listed as tool only. EGO’s checked HT2601 page describes an included 2.5Ah battery. Confirm the current listing, because kit contents and availability can change. The guide does not publish prices, and a tool-only product cannot be compared fairly with a kit by headline price.
Keep capacity inside the manual
Do not ask a hedge trimmer to act as a saw. For branches beyond the published limit, use a pruning saw or hire a professional. Use eye and hearing protection called for by the manual, keep bystanders clear, and stop work near power lines until a qualified professional has assessed it.
For crews maintaining planted areas as well as hedges, the lawn irrigation guide and large-garden irrigation guide cover the watering side.
Frequently asked questions
Which hedge trimmer is best for a landscaping business?
The Husqvarna 522iHD60 is the best documented starting point in this pool because its professional platform, weight, and independently reported capacity are all visible. ECHO and STIHL deserve a close look when dealer support is the deciding factor.
Is a battery hedge trimmer suitable for daily professional work?
It can be, if the battery platform, service route, runtime conditions, and material limits fit the job. Confirm the exact warranty and carry enough batteries for the measured workload. A product page does not replace a crew trial.
Does a longer blade make a trimmer professional grade?
No. Blade length affects coverage, while professional suitability also depends on service, controls, battery logistics, capacity, and handling. ECHO has the longest blade here, but its maximum branch diameter is not published.
Can professional users cut larger branches with these models?
Only within the exact manufacturer’s limit. Several models have a published capacity, while ECHO and STIHL do not in the checked US materials. When the limit is unknown or the branch is too large, change tools.
Recommendation
Start with Husqvarna 522iHD60 if your crew needs a professional battery platform and can confirm service locally. Pick ECHO or STIHL when dealer support and their control layouts fit the work. Keep a pruning saw available for anything outside the trimmer’s documented range.
Sources and method
Model facts come from the locked hedge-trimmer source registry and the manufacturer pages linked there. Independent handling and capacity context comes from Pro Tool Reviews’ battery hedge-trimmer roundup and its Husqvarna 522iHD60 review. She Gardens did not hands-on test these products. Local product images remain subject to permission checks before publication.
