Buying guide
Best hedge trimmers for thick branches: 7 models with documented limits
RYOBI's RY40606 has the highest published capacity in this locked pool at 1.5 inches. That number is a ceiling, not an invitation to force the tool through thicker wood.

For thick hedge growth, start with a published maximum branch diameter. RYOBI’s 40V HP RY40606 leads this list at 1.5 inches. EGO’s HT2601 and Husqvarna’s 522iHD60 follow at 1.2 inches, although the Husqvarna figure comes from an independent review rather than its current US product page.
She Gardens researched manufacturer pages, manuals, and the locked independent sources. We did not test these trimmers. Treat a capacity figure as a limit for suitable material, not as a promise that the blade will handle every branch at that size. If a branch is beyond the published limit, stop and use a pruning saw or another tool rated for that work.
Quick comparison
| Rank | Product | Documented branch limit | Main tradeoff |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | RYOBI 40V HP Brushless Whisper Series RY40606 | 1.5 in | 11.7 lb; variant details need checking |
| 2 | EGO POWER+ HT2601 | 1.2 in | Long, heavier handheld; notify-me listing observed |
| 3 | Husqvarna 522iHD60 | 1.2 in, reported by PTR | Tool only; current page omits capacity |
| 4 | EGO POWER+ HT2411 | 1 in | Weight and tooth gap not stated |
| 5 | DEWALT DCHT826B | 1 in | Weight and SPM not stated |
| 6 | Makita XHU07Z | 7/8 in | Tool only; lower limit |
| 7 | Milwaukee M18 FUEL 2726-20 | 3/4 in | Lowest documented limit here |
The seven picks
1. RYOBI 40V HP RY40606 for the highest published limit
The RYOBI RY40606 is the clearest fit when branch diameter drives the decision. Locked manufacturer material lists a 1.5-inch capacity, a 26-inch blade, 2,800 to 3,200 SPM, and an 11.7-pound weight. The 180-degree rotating handle can help with position changes, but this is a substantial handheld tool. Check the exact current tool-only variant before buying because the locked record says some details need rechecking.
Pros: highest documented capacity in the pool, long blade, rotating handle. Cons: heavy, and the exact current warranty and variant details need confirmation.
Check the RYOBI RY40606 on Amazon
2. EGO POWER+ HT2601 for a 1.2-inch claim and a long blade
EGO lists the HT2601 with a 1.2-inch capacity, a 26-inch blade, and speeds up to 3,400 SPM. Its five-position, 180-degree rotating handle and serviceable gearbox add useful control details. EGO also states up to 60 minutes with the included 2.5Ah battery under its no-load condition. That is not a cutting-runtime promise. The checked page showed a notify-me control, so confirm availability before planning a job around it.
Pros: 1.2-inch manufacturer claim, long blade, serviceable gearbox. Cons: weight is not published in the locked page, and the model is longer than compact picks.
Check the EGO HT2601 on Amazon
3. Husqvarna 522iHD60 for professional battery work
The Husqvarna 522iHD60 uses a 36V BLi-X battery, a 23.6-inch blade, and a stated 4,400 cuts per minute. Pro Tool Reviews independently reported a 1.2-inch capacity and a 7.94-pound weight excluding the battery. The current US Husqvarna page does not publish the capacity or a model-specific warranty period, so keep that distinction clear when comparing it with EGO or RYOBI.
Pros: strong independent capacity report, professional battery platform, lower reported bare-tool weight. Cons: tool only, and the current manufacturer page leaves two buyer-critical facts open.
Check the Husqvarna 522iHD60 on Amazon
4. EGO POWER+ HT2411 for a one-inch ceiling
The EGO HT2411 gives you a documented 1-inch capacity, a 24-inch blade, and 3,000 SPM. Its electric brake, IPX4 weather resistance, and fully serviceable blades are useful details for regular yard work. The checked page does not state weight or tooth gap, and it showed notify-me availability. Buy it for branches within the stated limit, not as a substitute for a saw.
Pros: clear 1-inch claim, electric brake, serviceable blades. Cons: weight and tooth gap are not stated, and availability needs a fresh check.
Check the EGO HT2411 on Amazon
5. DEWALT DCHT826B for a 20V MAX setup
DEWALT gives the DCHT826B a 1-inch capacity and 24-inch blade. The page also lists a hedge sweep, tip guard, and variable speed control, plus a three-year limited warranty, one year of free service, and a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. DEWALT describes the tooth gap as 33.3 percent greater than the prior model but does not give the absolute gap in the checked materials.
Pros: 1-inch claim, 20V MAX XR platform, clear service terms. Cons: tool only, with no verified weight or SPM in the locked record.
Check the DEWALT DCHT826B on Amazon
6. Makita XHU07Z for smaller coarse growth
The Makita XHU07Z has a 7/8-inch maximum branch diameter, a 24-inch blade, and three speed settings from 2,000 to 4,400 SPM. Makita lists 7.3 pounds without the battery and 8.65 pounds with it. The anti-vibration design, tip guard, and overload and overheat monitoring make it a more manageable pick when the branches are below the larger limits.
Pros: lightest documented full-size option here, three speeds, clear 7/8-inch limit. Cons: tool only and less capacity than the top five.
Check the Makita XHU07Z on Amazon
7. Milwaukee M18 FUEL 2726-20 for a lower branch limit
The Milwaukee M18 FUEL 2726-20 is a 24-inch tool with a documented 3/4-inch cut capacity and 3,400 SPM. The locked independent and retail record reports 8.8 pounds bare. Its blade tip guard, all-metal gear case, and variable speed trigger suit routine hedge maintenance, but the lower limit rules it out for the thickest material in this guide.
Pros: M18 platform, all-metal gear case, variable speed trigger. Cons: lowest documented capacity here, tool only, and the tooth gap is not verified.
Check the Milwaukee 2726-20 on Amazon
How to choose for thick growth
Use capacity as a hard boundary
The number beside a model is the maximum diameter in the locked evidence. It does not say that every branch at that diameter is a safe or sensible cut. A dry, awkward, or poorly supported branch can behave differently from the material used for a manufacturer specification. Read the manual before work, wear the required protective equipment, and stop when the blade binds or the stem exceeds the published limit.
Match the battery platform
Most picks are tool only. A lower sticker price would not tell the full buying story, and this guide does not publish prices. If you already own EGO, 20V MAX, 18V LXT, M18, 36V BLi-X, or 40V batteries, platform fit may matter more than a small difference in blade speed. Confirm that the battery and charger configuration matches the exact listing.
Do not confuse a pole tool with a branch solution
None of the ranked handhelds is a pruning saw. A pole hedge trimmer adds reach but does not change the cutting limit. Work from stable footing, keep the blade away from people and pets, and follow the manufacturer manual for clearance, startup, and PPE instructions.
If the hedge borders a lawn or bed, compare the lawn irrigation guide and raised-bed irrigation guide for the adjacent garden work.
Frequently asked questions
What is the thickest branch a hedge trimmer can cut?
The highest published figure in this pool is 1.5 inches for the RYOBI RY40606. EGO HT2601 and Husqvarna 522iHD60 are listed at 1.2 inches, with the Husqvarna figure reported independently. These are model limits, not a general hedge-trimmer rule.
Should I use a hedge trimmer on branches larger than the stated capacity?
No. Choose a pruning saw or another tool whose manufacturer specifies the material you need to cut. Do not push a hedge trimmer past its documented limit.
Is a faster blade better for thick branches?
Not by itself. The locked sources show speed, tooth spacing, and maximum branch diameter as separate facts. Capacity and the manual’s instructions deserve more weight than an SPM number alone.
Can I use a pole hedge trimmer for thick branches overhead?
Reach does not make overhead cutting safe, and a pole model may not publish a branch limit. Keep this guide’s capacity rule in place, use stable footing, and follow the pole-tool manual. Hire a professional when the work requires a ladder, tree climbing, or work near power lines.
Recommendation
Choose the RYOBI RY40606 when the 1.5-inch published ceiling and 40V platform fit your work. EGO HT2601 is the next clear capacity choice. For anything beyond the model’s documented limit, put down the hedge trimmer and switch tools.
Sources and method
Product specifications come from the locked hedge-trimmer product shortlist and its linked manufacturer pages. Independent capacity and weight context comes from Pro Tool Reviews’ battery hedge-trimmer roundup and its Husqvarna 522iHD60 review. She Gardens did not hands-on test these products. Product images are local editorial identification assets; usage permission remains a launch check.
